On the 9th of April 2016 I decided to start writing and made my first step in creating this blog; now one year I have a chance to reflect on this life changing leap.

When I started this blog I wasn’t at my peak- I was mentally and physically drained. I had been living away from home for the first time, facing an onslaught of university exams as well as struggling with general life dramas and a sense that I didn’t have a purpose. I have always been driven to do so many different things and that had just vanished. One thing I always did have though was my thoughts and an A in English. Writing gave me a chance to express and experience.

I have written over 120 pieces since taking up writing 1 year ago, which have been read in over 40 countries across the globe. I have published not only on this blog but briefly on OutletMag, as well as in the magazine which I am a Deputy Editor, Magdalen. In addition I received a couple of paid pieces of work with D & G life, a multi-award winning magazine. All in all for a years work I think I’ve done not bad. Hopefully looking forward I will become the Editor-in-Chief of Magdalen.

Starting writing has also been a major catalyst for positive change in me personally. It has given me a lot of confidence; for example before writing I doubt I would have been comfortable going along to a music festival, interviewing world renowned artists and craftsmen, walking down City Centre in a purple poncho (a hark back to one of my first pieces). I have also switch from slacks to suits, written a cook book and won silver in the Scottish University championships as a Senior Barebow archer. To top it off I have travelled to England Ireland and Wales representing Young people and become a director on the board of Youth Scotland. Fair to say writing got me my mojo back.

I know I’ve probably said it a hundred time but if you have the slightest inclination to write then do; it does so much more than just improve your writing.

Looking forward to the next year I am hoping to carry on with this upward trend and regarding this blog, who knows? I am thinking I may do some more lighthearted stuff at times as apposed to my general more serious topics- it is “theextraordinartstudentlife” after all. It can all be too serious.

Until next time, thanks for all the support, ciao the now 🙂

 

 

