Festival season is now drawing to a close and for once I have actually started to embrace it. I have always been keen on live and new music but this summer was the first time I decided to go a music festival. This came after I was very kindly allowed to cover a couple of festivals for Scotland’s magazine of the year 2016, D&G Life.

After going to Youth Beatz and Electric Fields I have gained a valuable insight into something very special, the diversity that comes with the appreciation of music. People from 2 to 80 turned out to enjoy the music on offer, entire families and masses of friends danced together, smiled, laughed and sang their hearts out. In a world where there is so much society enforced segregation it is truly wonderful to behold a spectacle of musical mastery with the ability to unify groups of people who otherwise aren’t even likely to greet one another in the street.  With that diversity came comfort, peace and happiness. Children were comfortable to sleep in the crowd and the elderly were comfortable packed amongst a group of teenagers. The comfortableness of the whole thing was slightly strange to me as I am a person who  innately dislikes being in large crowds, but in this environment I didn’t mind at all.

Another obvious brilliant thing about festivals, particularly those I went to is that they provide a platform for a range of amazing new talent. I was blown away at Electric Fields by the quality of musicians that Scotland is turning out and even within my very thinly populated area of Scotland there are some genuinely amazing bands. These festivals are vital to encouraging this talent. After all it is unlikely that a brand new band is going to make an instant wad of cash from selling albums; they need to make their name first.

A sunny day also goes a good way to making a great festival experience, although it wouldn’t be entirely British without a spot of rain.

Goodbye festival season, I look forward to discovering even more of you next year.

 

 

