People seem to have an affinity with motivational quotes. They are everywhere, Facebook, twitter, our walls, notebooks, diaries, classrooms and advertisements. Something about certain phrases, or statements mean something to us. Most of the time it is something, a vision, that we should all aspire to, or something that makes you just stop and think for a minute. Most things can make me stop and think, my mind is constantly distracted, but a quote that invokes an emotion in me is one that I will truly be motivated by; I think that is the same with everyone else.

As a student I am used to being surrounded by people who have quotes pinned to the walls- I do it myself at times. When you own mind is down and out, turn to someone else’s to climb back up with.

Some quotes are just nonsense, these are the ones we see on twitter and Facebook, posted by “anonymous”- code for I just made it up but I don’t want to take the blame for how little sense it makes. However a lot of the time our bedroom wall quotes are by genuinely inspiring, wise and moving people. My favourite quote is at the head of my blog:  “Live as though you will die tomorrow, learn as though you will live for ever” Gandhi. This message about living life to the fullest and continually developing yourself is what I try to do. I try to develop new skills and put them to use, have something to show for each and every day. For example I have been learning how to create fashion design drawings and have been drawing and painting for the last few days. By doing this I don’t feel like I am wasting my time laying around watching TV.

I am continuously inspired by quotes and song lyrics, Frank Sinatra’s “That’s life” and “My way”, Ella Fitzgerald’s “it don’t mean a thing if it aint got that swing” and Nat King Cole’s “Smile”. In case you hadn’t noticed, I love jazz. These songs all give a message on how to live your life but I also love, and perhaps I am even more inspired by, those songs that highlight issues in society. For example: “Have you ever tried to run for your life in heels?”. This may seem like a slightly odd quote to be inspired by but when you see the context of who said it, it makes more sense. It was said, in spoken word, by transgender singer, Jordan Gray aka Tall Dark Friend.

Another quote that I listened to, just today, and found interesting was:

“It’s the strength that causes the confusion and the fear.” Lady Diana

This links to the idea that any strong, new and passionate person will be faced with some, if not considerable, apprehension. Many, including myself, are a bit afraid of change. It seems to be a gut reaction but once you embrace these people, if they are the right people, then you begin to see that change is good and needed.

Since I can’t think of a proper way to some this up, I thought I would I finish with a quote from Joe Lycett “Life is like a box of chocolates. It doesn’t last long if your fat”.

 

